Eddie Murphy Will Be The Next Recipient of The Mark Twain Prize For Humor

(via NY Times)

Maybe this will be the thing that will have Eddie Murphy return to telling jokes on stage?

Following Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Neil Simon, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Bill Cosby, Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Ellen DeGeneres, Carol Burnett, and Jay Leno, Eddie Murphy will be the latest to receive the prestigious Mark Twain Prize For Humor from The Kennedy Center.

With a tribute on Spike TV, some touching remarks from Chris Rock at the SNL 40th Anniversary, and now this Mark Twain Prize, we wonder if there is a ratio of tribute specials to live comedy appearances where he does a little more than say thank you.